• Student U

Glendy Sanchez Cervantes

Updated: Jul 24, 2019

My mom and dad held on to hope that I would be born healthy and at full term. After their son had a heart problem and went through so much pain, they were thinking that I would be born at 5 months and not make it. Doctors said that even if I did survive I would have health complications for the rest of my life and eventually they would cause me to lose my eyesight . But my strong mother believed that I could make it and didn't give up. With lots of hospital visits and medical attention, I was able to develop properly. I was born 5 weeks early, but they assured my parents that I would make It . This is why I appreciate living and seeing another day.

My name is Glendy Sanchez. I was born on February 23, 2005 in Durham, NC. I was raised in Durham, growing up with only one sibling names Richard, who is 4 years older than me. He is a Northern High School class of 2019 graduate, who will attend Florence Darlington Tech in South Carolina, this coming fall. My brother and I never really grew up close. We both did our own thing . My dad only has 2 brothers out of 5 living in the United States and no sisters in the United States out of 5. They live in Oaxaca, Mexico. My mom only has 2 sisters and no brothers in the United States. The rest of her 10 siblings live in Veracruz, Mexico, where unfortunately 2 of my uncles passed away. One of my uncle's life was taken due to a venomous snake bite and the lack of getting medical attention fast enough. My other uncle's death remains a mystery.

I have about 20 cousins in the United States and I have even more in Mexico. I have a pretty large family as you can tell. My dad walked hours in a burning dessert, risking his own life, to cross the border. My mom traveled in a packed and dirty car for days to cross the border. My parents and family are immigrants, meaning they had to sacrifice so much, not only having to leave everything behind, but starting a whole new life in a foreign country. Not only did they not know how to speak English, but they had to find jobs to make a living  while both young. My mom and dad overcame that challenges and were able to get decent jobs.

  I attended Eastway Elementary School in Kindergarten through 3rd grade, where I played soccer for 1 year. A fun fact: I was one of 2 girls on a team full of boys. I later transferred to Maureen Joy Charter School due to some personal issues at Eastway, and the lack of education I received. I attended Maureen Joy for 4th and 5th grade, and for all of my middle school years. In 6th and 7th grade, I ran cross country and in 7th and 8th grade I played soccer. I wouldn't say that I had it easy at Maureen Joy, but I made the best memories when I met my two best friends and the amazing experiences of going to new places that I probably wouldn't have gone to.

It was not hard adjusting to the small environment of Maureen Joy. There were only around 70 students per grade compared to a regular public school with hundreds of students. I did some extra-curricular programs, such as student council in 5th grade and Student Ambassador. I also attended Student U, an after-school and summer program which prepares you not only for the next academic school year, but for what is to come in the future. It will take some adjusting to go from a small charter school back to a public school with about 300 students per grade.

I’ll be the 4th person to graduate high school in my family, in hopes that one day I will be able to graduate college and to prove to my parents that all their sacrifices for us were worth it and able to accomplish something they didn't have the opportunity of. I hope one day I can become a vet or chef . One I love animals and learning about them I also love showing my creativity with food.****

OUR LOCATION

Address: 3116 Academy Rd

Durham, NC 27707

United States

Phone: 919-267-3958

Email:  admin@studentudurham.org

SUBSCRIBE
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

© 2019 by Student U Publication